NATA Young Scientist Awards winners 2016

7 & 8 years First Prize
Maddelyn Cowan

9 & 10 years First Prize
Kayleigh Hanna

11 & 12 years First Price
Luke Boyd
And the winners are…

The winners of the 2016 NATA Young Scientists of the Year Award have been chosen! The competition once again attracted a large number of entries, submitted by primary school students across Australia. Our dedicated judges spent hours sifting through the hundreds of entries received from across the country before finally selecting the winners in each age group.

The first prize winner in the 7 & 8 years category was Maddelyn Cowan from Mudgeeraba Creek State School in Mudgeeraba, Queensland. Her investigation on ‘The Germs on our Hands’ struck a chord with judges who commended Maddelyn for the clarity of her investigation and well-presented material.

Second prize winner in this age group was Lily Schroder from Our Lady of the Rosary in Kenmore, Queensland and third prize winner was Chloe Williams also from Mudgeeraba Creek State School.

First prize in the 9 & 10 years category went to Kayleigh Hanna from Umina Beach Public School in Umina, New South Wales. Kayleigh’s entry ‘The effect of temperature on baking’ was commended for the excellent presentation and layout and clear summary.

Second prize in this group went to a group of students from Manchester Primary School in Victoria – Elise Twisk, Grace Bennell and Isabella Ingram. Third prize went to Mackenzie Cowan from Mudgeeraba Creek State School.

Luke Boyd from Mudgeeraba Creek State School in Queensland won the first prize in the 11 & 12 years category with his project ‘Is it safe to eat? The 5 second rule!’ The judges commented on the thoroughness of Luke’s methods and excellent presentation.

Second prize winner was John Fletcher from Lake Joondalup Baptist School, Joondalup WA. The third prize in this group was shared by Penelope LarterFumiko Weekes and Emma-kate Watt from Our Lady of the Rosary Primary School, Kenmore, Queensland.

Congratulations to all of our winners and to everyone who entered…and a special thank you to those wonderful teachers who support their students and foster their love of science.

Click here to see some other impressive entries we received this year...


First prize winners received their cheques and certificates at school presentations during November (images below).

NSW State Manager Susan Jones
with Kayleigh Hanna

QLD State Manager Darina Ross
with Maddelyn Cowan

QLD State Manage Darina Ross
with Luke Boyd

Mudgeeraba Creek State School Winners